Until ten months ago this technophobic Gran had the perfect excuse to avoid the Technological Revolution. We lived in rural Wales where there was no mobile phone signal or broadband and there were frequent power cuts. My TV and most of the kitchen appliances were 20+ years old and the heating came from a wood/coal burning stove.

We now live in Cardiff in a small modern centrally heated house, no fire to feed just a thermostat to twiddle on the wall.We have replaced the appliances, so instead of twisting knobs on the TV and fiddling with the aerial, I have a row of remote controls and can not only change channels but can record onto a hard disk (it will even remember to record a series for me). I remember the first time I saw TV. I was about 8 and one of my friends was the daughter of the wireless repair man. One day she came to school and tried to describe a  machine he had made. She said it was like a wireless (radio) but had pictures like the cinema. It was not unknown for her to tell tall stories so we did not believe her, however she invited us to go for tea and watch it. We were amazed when we saw it -just a large wooden box with a tiny 9″ screen. The programmes were only on in the evening and were flickering black and white.

 We were the first house to buy a TV in our road and bought it for the Coronation in 1953 and kept open house all day for the neighbours to come in to watch.

My kitchen appliances all work by pressing buttons. When I put the washing into the machine and go off to do something else, I am reminded of washday when I was a child. It started on Sunday evening when my mother filled the copper with water and we grated hard soap into it. Early next morning a fire was lit under this copper. The clothes were washed, boiled, rinsed (under the cold tap) dipped in Rickets blue, starched and finally mangled before being pegged out on the line. This took most of the morning.

We have a breadmaker and I am still amazed when, having put in the ingredients and pressed buttons again 2 hours later a perfect loaf appears. It would even do it while I sleep if I could only learn to trust it when I am not there! A far cry from my mothers breadmaking with its mixing, kneading, knocking back and baking. It was a great stress breaker though all that kneading!

It is when I see how my grandchildren take all these gadgets for granted that I realise that this is a completely different world from the one I knew as a child and I wonder what they will be marvelling at in 60 years time.

