As a war child I was very lucky because the nearest bomb to my house was about 500 yards away. It just missed the school, the church, the post office and the pub! I think they may have been aiming for the Players tobacco factory as that was just down the road. Several houses were demolished and the bomb site remained for years after the war as a reminder.

The bomb site acted like a magnet to the boys of the neighbourhood who went scavenging for bits of shrapnel and were constantly being chased off by officials.

There was a concrete bomb shelter in the next road to us, but we didn’t use it as we had a reinforced cellar, though I don’t think we used that very often either as my mother blamed sitting in it for the pneumonia she suffered!

I must admit I don’t remember much about the bombs but I do remember the awful whine of the warning siren, It still makes the hairs on my neck stand up when I hear it on films.

We were at the doctor’s once when the siren started and we all sat under what I thought was a table but realise,now, was a Morrison shelter (The indoor option for those who had no garden for an Anderson shelter)  The doctor fed us dolly mixtures from a big  jar. I think she used her sweet ration to provide treats for the child patients because she always had the jar on her desk.

We were lucky because we did not get “blitzed” like many other cities.

JW  saw more action than I did as he lived  not far from Biggin Hill (home of the fighter squadrons).  He and his mother used to sit under the stairs when a raid was on.

  One of my older cousins brought her young family from London for the duration of the war. They had had two narrow escapes in London so she thought they would be safer in Nottingham, but a few days after they arrived she was in the Market Square when a stray German plane came over and strafed the square. He had probably strayed from a raid on the airfields in Lincolnshire. Once again Elsie escaped injury but she was convinced “They”  were out to get her, however she survived “Them” and lived to a ripe old age!

