My lovely son- in-law GG has just been round and sorted out my DVD player and the top up box. I had lost the sound and the manuals for both said I should check the sound jack! Since I would not know a sound jack from a boot jack, and JW has no interest in TV anyway, I enlisted the help of GG who came round and fixed the lot in a few minutes! What good taste in men my daughter  has:) I don’t begin to understand all these gadgets I have now, I just use them as instructed and hope for the best.

TV has always mystified me since the first one I ever saw about 60 years ago. My friend Gwen was always prone to “embroider” the truth, so when she turned up one day and said that her father (the local wireless repairman) had made a “wireless with a screen that showed pictures” we thought that this was just another of her fantasies.  She invited a couple of us home for tea to see this magic box. It was a tiny screen (9″) in a large box. We sat patiently waiting for the tube to warm up and then suddenly the black and white picture came on, and we watched entranced as the test card faded out and “Children’s Hour” came on.

We had our first TV in time for the Coronation. We were the first in our road to have one, so Coronation day was open house to the neighbours and relatives, to watch the 12″ screen set in a magnificent mahogany cabinet (complete with doors) which matched the equally large cabinet of the radiogram. There was only one programme provider  (the BBC) for quite some time and programmes were only transmitted for a few hours each day. When there were no programmes they put a test card up so that you could adjust the picture. Sometimes there was an interval between programmes and then they played a filler such as the one showing a pot being thrown on a wheel! At the end of the evening they played the National Anthem and showed pictures of the Queen.

It was a few years before BBC2 and ITV were born. Then we had even more knobs to fiddle with.

We could never have imagined colour pictures, much less the number of programmes which would be available, remote controls would have been regarded as sci-fi, and the thoughts of seeing a programme on a machine which would fit in your pocket was beyond belief!

The idea that we would see reporters sending back pictures as they happened, from war zones and disaster areas, well, that was as fanciful as the idea that man could walk on the moon and send pictures back!

