I hope you all had a very happy Christmas, spent with the people you love, in the place of your choosing (despite strike threats, weather conditions and terrorist threats.)

We had a lovely relaxed time.  We put up the tree with all the traditional decorations. I am not one to go for a fashionable themed look which changes every year. I prefer to use the ornaments which mean something to me. The star on the top and a few old baubles from my childhood, the golden balls from a favourite Aunt and Uncle, decorations made in years past by Jennie and others bought on holidays.

 We had lots of lovely cards from our family and friends. I love this time when we get the impetus to write those letters which we have been meaning to write all year.

Some of my correspondents have been my friends since our schooldays in Nottingham in the 1950s. A group of us were close friends. We were all in the Guides and spent many of our holidays together as well as our schooling. This year was special too as I managed to contact one friend who had not been in touch with any of us for several decades.

We also had new friends to add to our card list, new neighbours and the  friends we made on our cruise.

Jennie  and I went to the candlelit service of midnight Mass in our local church. This brought back many happy memories of my younger years when I used to go with my parents and lovely brother.

JW  brought me breakfast in bed and then we opened our presents before lunch. Jennie and Co. came for tea, laden with yet more presents.  I was very impressed with my present chosen by Cheeky  ( my 5 year old grandson), an Elvis mug and coaster set!  He had taken note of the Elvis calendar in my kitchen. 🙂

Jennie has been very busy for the past few months as she was determined to make at least one handmade present for each of us. (She will probably be posting pictures of her achievements on her site soon)

The boys are delightful to buy for as they appreciate everything, from books and puppet theatres to video games and CDs.

    We all watched “Dr Who” together ( I am a very “with it” grandma 🙂 ) and then “Strictly come dancing”. The boys have very decided views on who should win.

It was a lovely day, no hassle, no arguments just a happy family day.

