Here in Cardiff we have been quite lucky (so far) with the winter weather. We have had only a dusting of snow, sleet and frost, but I know many of you are having to cope with much more difficult conditions, so I thought the following piece, which was printed in my hospital league magazine, might lift the mood a little. This is especially for my friend Doggone  🙂

 In my next life I’d like to come back as a bear.     by Claire Oakley

In this life I’m a woman. In my next life I’d like to come back as a bear. When you’re a bear you get to hibernate. You do nothing but sleep for six months. I could deal with that!!

Before you hibernate you’re supposed to eat yourself stupid. I could deal with that too!!

When you are a girl bear you birth your children (who are the size of walnuts) while you are sleeping and wake to partially grown cute cuddly cubs. I could definitely deal with that!!

If you’re a mamma bear everyone knows you mean business. You swat anyone who bothers your cubs. If your cubs get out of line, you swat them too. I could deal with that!!

If you’re a bear your mate EXPECTS you to wake up growling. He EXPECTS you to have hairy legs and excess body fat

                                                                           Yup, gonna be a bear!! 

Hope that lifts the gloom a little. 🙂

