As I have written before, when we moved into this house 2 years ago, I had to have a complete change of mind set on gardening as this garden is tiny compared to the garden we had previously.

When we moved in it was a very neat, (but a bit boring :)) garden mainly lawn and narrow rose borders and a few evergreens.

I wanted to create something less formal but still attractive to look at with year round interest and with a few edible plants. I left a few of the roses, but got JW  to dig out the ones prone to black spot etc. then severely pruned and warned the remainder! 

Dublin Bay

Ballerina

As you see they all responded to the drastic treatment and have earned their reprieve!

I also planted a clump of “Yellow Rattle” to brighten up the surrounding greenery.

A little patch of sunshine!

This is part of the “decorative” garden. In the next post I will tell you about the edible section!

