Growing old is a mixed bag of advantages and disadvantages.  You don’t feel old on the inside, it just the lessening mobility, rheumatic aches, seeing an old lady looking back at you when you look in a mirror and the sadness of friends and family dying and realising that you are one of a shrinking circle who remember certain events.

It is not all disadvantage though. We are retired now so don’t have to adhere strictly to a clock or take holidays to suit other people. We have a regular (small) income, which covers our modest needs but is not large enough to cause us great worry about how to invest it 🙂 We have a free bus pass, free health care and cheap rates on some theatre tickets etc.

One of the advantages I realised recently was that the short term memory weakness means that remembering books I have read and TV I  have watched in the past few years is very vague, so it is like seeing them anew!  While I can remember books I read in primary school I can pick up a book I read a few years ago and it is like a new book. I know that I have read it before because I nearly always read my books before I put them on the shelf. Some of those I read in the 1950s and the 1960s I can remember the gist of but am enjoying rereading old favourites.

With the vagaries of memory I can remember events from childhood and young adulthood very clearly and an odd word or something triggers memories of those days, and I find a whole host of memories crowding in.

Another advantage of age is that we don’t get so worried about events in the wider world because we have seen most of it before and life goes on, until the governing powers make the same mistakes again!

One thing which causes us amusement is when some earnest young person comes onto a news programme and announces that a “think tank” has discovered that we would be better doing things differently and then describes the way we did it 50 years ago!

My memory triggers have been working overtime recently so I will share some of them with you in future blogs.

